WHATSAPP has introduced a feature that lets users avoid drama when leaving group chats – but few people know about it.
The messaging app actually snuck in the feature earlier this year.
Whatever the reason for exiting a group, usually someone had something to say about it[/caption]
It lets users silently leave groups.
WhatsApp users can now exit a group chat without having to notify anyone.
This means that if you’ve been added to yet another birthday party planning chat, you can quietly leave using the side door that WhatsApp has built to avoid any awkward moments.
Before the feature was introduced, WhatsApp would send a notification to the entire group whenever someone left.
This could certainly stir the pot, and unintentionally cause offence.
Although sometimes, the drama caused was, in fact, intentional.
Whatever the reason for exiting a group, usually someone had something to say about it.
Once you enable the feature in your WhatsApp settings, you will see the same message, no matter which group you choose to leave from.
One thing to note is that admins – the people who created the group – are unable to use this feature in that specific chat.
They will be able to only in group’s where they aren’t the admin.
For Android users, tap and hold the group you want to leave from.
Tap on the three-dot icon in the top-right corner of your screen.
Select Exit. You will see a message on the screen that reads, “Only Group Admins will be notified that you left the group.”
For iPhone users, swipe left on the group you want to leave from.
Tap on More. Then click Exit.
You will see a message on the screen that reads, “Only Group Admins will be notified that you left the group.”
WhatsApp, which has an eyewatering 2billion users, also has another trick which can avoid any bad blood.
Users can turn off read receipts, which means contacts can no longer see when you’ve viewed their message.
But keep in mind by turning off read receipts, you also won’t be able to see if they have read your messages in return.
To do this, open WhatsApp > Settings > Account > Privacy > turn the toggle off for Read Receipts.
Best Phone and Gadget tips and hacks
Looking for tips and hacks for your phone? Want to find those secret features within social media apps? We have you covered…
- How to delete your Instagram account
- What does pending mean on Snapchat?
- How to check if you’ve been blocked on WhatsApp
- How to drop a pin on Google Maps
- How can I change my Facebook password?
- How to go live on TikTok
- How to clear the cache on an iPhone
- What is NFT art?
- What is OnlyFans?
- What does Meta mean?
Get all the latest WhatsApp, Instagram, Facebook and other tech gadget stories here.
We pay for your stories! Do you have a story for The Sun Online Tech & Science team? Email us at [email protected]